2014-04-11 / Community


College inducts students into honor society

York County Community College held the induction ceremony of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society on March 27, when 70 students were honored for outstanding academic records and achievements.

The Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society requires of its members the following qualifications: each member must be matriculated in an associate degree program, carry a minimum of six credit hours per semester, have earned at least 12 credits in an associate’s degree program, and have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.25.

In order for each member to maintain their membership, they must maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.25 and carry six credit hours per semester.

The mission of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society is to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students, and to provide opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service and fellowship programming. Today, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education and is the official honor society for two-year colleges.

York County Community College students inducted into the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society are:

Evan M. Amadon, Saco; Paul D. Archer, Sanford; Brianna Bean, West Newfield; Robin Benoit, Berwick; Susan C. Boisvert, North Waterboro; Matthew B. Briere, Sanford; Johanna Brown, Eliot; Cassie A. Cantara, Wells; Michael E. Carpenter, North Berwick; Cassidy Carter, Eliot; Michael Colter, York; Tiffany Delisle, Saco; Carrie N. Dore, Wells; Kaitlin Downs, Lebanon; Ashley Dubois, Sanford; John Fernald, Eliot; Emily Garry, York; Katrina Gilman, Springvale; Zoe Goodwin, Kennebunkport; Christine Hamann, Kennebunk; Joshua S. Hamel, Waterboro; Mary Hansen, Lyman; Maranda Harold, Newmarket, NH; Nicole Hughes, Eliot; Karl Huntley II, Sanford; Juli A. Ichim, Berwick; Laurentiu Ichim, Berwick; Fred Kerrigan, Sanford; Lesley J. Lafland, Springvale; Shane Lafontaine, Biddeford; Louise H. Latanowich, Wells; Gregory Lawn, Kennebunk; Paige C. Lefay, Shapleigh; Jessica Lombardi, Dover, NH; Katherine Ludlow, Sanford; Lacey Lyons, Sanford; Darrell W. Marin, Sanford; Cindy Martin, Wells; Gretchen McKeen, North Berwick; Victoria McWhirk, Sanford; Catarina Michaud, Kennebunk; Rosaleen Moore, York; Rebecka Morton, Shapleigh; Ashley Moulton, York; Janet Nelson, Sanford; Kristen O’Connor, South Berwick; Shannon Prendiville, Portland; Tammy Rabida, Dayton; Eileen S. Randall, Sanford; Holly Sanders, Portland; Alexander Schifano, North Berwick; Brittany Thompson, Kennebunk; Sara L. Tremblay, Acton; Shawna M. Trucheon, Biddeford; Amanda Violette, Sanford; Melanie Wadleigh, Kennebunk; Marcia Walker, Arundel; William Winslow, Wells; and Leah M. Young, South Berwick.

Return to top