2015-05-22 / Community

News Briefs

Kennebunk ballot full for upcoming election

The candidates are set for local elections June 9, and all the action appears to be happening in Kennebunk. With six candidates running for three open seats on the Kennebunk Board of Selectmen, it should be a busy contest. Just two incumbents — John Kotsonis and Albert Searles — are in the race, meaning voters are guaranteed at least one fresh face on the board. The challengers include two former selectmen, Daniel Boothby and William Ward Jr., as well as two community activists, Edward Karytko and Shiloh Schulte, the latter active most recently in the ongoing controversy over a proposed skate park in Parsons Field, an issue also on the June 9 ballot.

Meanwhile, four candidates are vying for a single five-year opening on the Kennebunk Light and Power District Board of Trustees, a term that will put the winner smack in the middle of a heated debate over the fate of three dams on the Mousam River. Those dams are due for relicensing in 2022, but trustees must decide by March 2017 whether they will try to relicense them with the federal government or have them removed. With trustee Craig MacDonald not pursuing re-election, it’ll be a new face weighing in on the relicensing debate — either Craig Cunningham, Robert Emmons, William Hetzel, or Curtis Mildner.

Meanwhile, it’s incumbents only in line for two seats on the Kennebunk Sewer District Board of Trustees, as Mark Allenwood and James Oppert are the only names on the ballot.

The same is true for the RSU 21 Board of Directors, where incumbents Brad Huot and Michael Mosher are the only people running for two open seats.

Memorial Day services scheduled

Arundel will kick off Memorial Day weekend celebrations for 2015 with a short ceremony organized by the Arundel Historical Society, to be held at 11 a.m. on Sunday, May 24, at the Veterans Memorial, located at Central Fire Station on Limerick Road.

Kennebunkport will then lead off Memorial Day festivities on Monday, May 26, with the town’s annual parade, organized by American Legion Memorial Post 159. The line will start at 9:30 a.m. at Temple Street, then wind its way along Spring Street and Western Avenue to Cooper’s Corner, and back again. A gun salute will follow on the Kennebunk River Bridge in Dock Square. About a half-hour after that ceremony, marchers will move on to Cape Porpoise for a brief parade there.

Meanwhile, Kennebunk’s annual parade will kick off at 2 p.m. on Monday, May 26, with a route that will take marchers along Main Street to the sounds of the Kennebunk High School Band.

Kennebunkport ballot set for election

It’ll be a slate of familiar faces on the June 9 municipal ballot in Kennebunkport. In almost every case, there are just enough candidates to fill the open seats, and every one is an incumbent.

On the board of selectmen, Stuart Barwise and Allen Daggett are running for re-election. On the Kennebunk, Kennebunkport and Wells Water District, incumbent trustee Jim Burrows is also running again. Meanwhile, D. Michael Weston is the only person seeking his seat as an at-large member on the Kennebunkport Beach Advisory Committee.

The one contest is in play for an open seat on the RSU 21 Board of Directors. With incumbent Robert Domine not running for re-election, that three-year position will go to either Val Lander or Peter Fellenz. Both are scheduled to appear at a candidates night, starting at 6 p.m. on Monday, June 1, at Kennebunk High School. Billed as a chance for all school board candidates to answer questions from the public, the forum will be moderated by Joe Bergeron, an eighth-grader at the Middle School of the Kennebunks.

Arundel short on candidates

As in Kennebunkport, the June 9 municipal ballot in Arundel is largely a function of re-electing incumbents and lone candidates.

On the board of selectmen, Daniel Dubois and Philip Labbe drew no challengers in their re-election bids. Meanwhile, on the RSU 21 Board of Directors, Catherine Rush is the only candidate running to replace Susan Sinnott-Curran, who is not running again.

The only real action may come down to the Arundel Budget Board, and then only through possible write-in candidates. There are two, three-year terms available, but just one candidate on the ballot — Shawn Hayes. Meanwhile, no one turned in papers to run for the board’s open twoyear term, while Jack Reetz is the only candidate for one of two open single-year slots. Hayes is an incumbent, while Reetz would be new to the budget board.

Bank branch closing after merger

The merger of Camden National Bank and The Bank of Maine, due to be completed in October, will result in one fewer branch office in Kennebunk. In a May 15 press release, Camden National Bank announced that once the merger is finalized, its office at 108 Lafayette Center will close and consolidate with The Bank of Maine branch at 36 Portland Road, given that the two locations are less than a mile apart.

“We carefully reviewed our expanded branch network and determined that these branches were in such close proximity to each other that it would provide a better customer experience to combine locations in these instances,” said Gregory Dufour, president and CEO of Camden National Bank.

“We expect that any staff members impacted by the consolidation of these branches will be accommodated through positions within our overall branch network.”

Once the merger is complete, Camden National will have a network of 64 branches and three specialized lending locations. Customers also will have access to more than 85 ATMs in addition to those statewide that are part of the Maine Cash Access Network.

Return to top