2015-03-20 / Community

Election season underway; nomination papers available

Nomination papers became available Monday, March 16, for elected positions in Arundel, Kennebunk and Kennebunkport.

Offices to be decided at the June 9 vote in Kennebunk include three seats on the board of selectmen (currently held by John Kotsonis, Albert Searles and David Spofford); two seats on the RSU 21 Board of Directors (now held by Brad Huot and Mike Mosher); a spot on the Kennebunk Light and Power District Board of Trustees (now held by Craig MacDonald); and two seats on the Kennebunk Sewer District Board of Trustees (now held by Mark Allenwood and James Oppert). All posts are for three-year terms except the KL&P trustee slot, which is for five years.

Up for dibs in Kennebunkport are two seats on the board of selectmen (now belonging to Stuart Barwise and Chairman Allen Daggett); a spot on the RSU 21 Board of Directors (currently filled by Robert Domine); a trustees post at the Kennebunk, Kennebunkport, Wells Water District (held by Jim Burrows); and a seat on the town’s Beach Advisory Committee (now held by committee secretary Beth Ramsey). All openings are for three-year terms.

According to Kennebunk Town Clerk Merton Brown and Kennebunkport Town Clerk April Dufoe, to qualify for the ballot in either town, prospective candidates must return nomination forms by 4:30 p.m. on Monday, April 27.

Each candidate must submit between 25 and 100 signatures from people registered to vote in Kennebunk.

The Arundel town clerk did not respond by press time to an inquiry about nomination papers.

Return to top