2012-12-14 / Community

Kennebunk Savings scholarships awarded

Four York County Community College students recently received full one-year scholarships from a $10,000 donation by the Kennebunk Savings. Kennebunk Savings president and CEO Bradford Paige visited the campus recently to present the scholarships to students Haley Searles, Katelin Spencer, Alexander Coffey and Sean Smeltzer. The students were selected by the York County Community College Foundation’s scholarship committee.

The Kennebunk Savings donation is an example of its ongoing support of York County Community College. Kennebunk Savings also donated $125,000 to establish the college’s dual enrollment program, an early college experience for high school and home-schooled juniors and seniors who wish to experience a college classroom, explore career options and earn both high school and college credit at the same time. The four scholarship students all participated in the dual enrollment program.

“Kennebunk Savings has been a generous donor over the years, helping the college tremendously,” said Dr. John Rainone, executive director of the York County Community College Foundation. “This award allows four outstanding students to attend YCCC for a full year at no cost, allowing them to save money for their future studies.”

Return to top